How to Clear Your Acne Fast!

After many recent trips to the beach I realized my skin, which has been plagued with breakouts from my pre-teen years had cleared up DRASTICALLY.

So I had to wonder, does salt water clear the skin? Where I’m from, the locals think that salt-water is a cure-all for any ailment; but it never occurred to me that it was beneficial to my skin.

How does it clear the skin?

Research has shown that salt-water, or saline solution as it is scientifically termed has been proven to alleviate acne by changing the pH of your skin to be more alkaline. I also find that it soothes my face when my skin is irritated too. Salt has antibacterial properties making it a good cleanser for acne prone skin by decreasing zit causing bacteria.

Won’t it dry out my skin?

However you may experience some dryness, but nothing that can’t be solved with a good moisturizer. You can also play around with the amount of salt you use depending on your skin type. Epsom salts is also a less harsh alternative to sea salt for those with eczema/skin conditions.


Sea Salt Face Rinse:

Wash Your face with warm water to open the pores

Mix 2 tablespoons of Sea Salt per 8oz water

Apply to the face at least twice daily, more depending on your acne etc, using a cotton pad.

Let the salt water remain on your skin for a few minutes (you can choose to rinse it off or leave it, then moisturize)

 Other Uses of Sea Salt:

– Cleaning piercings (heals faster than with store bought piercing cleaners) & Cleaning wounds and burns (heals faster)

– To brighten yellowing linen/cotton

– Gargle it to cure sore throats

– To treat insect bites

-De-odourizing shoes

Hope this helps!

Jenny xox

Leave a Reply

